25
Apr
10

After-Work Salsa

Every Wednesday evening at 7:3o, La Pregunta hosts free Salsa lessons with J. R. The first hour  is spent going over basic instructions on Salsa dancing, while the remainder of the night is used to heat things up. Every other Wednesday, Sara joins us at 9:30 to provide live Salsa music with her band.

La Pregunta interview’s J.R. about After-work Salsa:

LA: How long have you been dancing Salsa?

JR: A little bit over ten years.

LA: Where did you first learn to dance Salsa?

JR: I learned at Booker T. Washington, a middle school on 108th street.

LA: What inspired you to teach Salsa?

JR: My dad. He was always on top of me. I had the rythym. He was doing the Salsa thing and one day I tried it. It was something I had inside of me that I didn’t know. When it happened, I liked it. I started teaching people because I felt good about it. It’s a good thing.

LA:How many students do you usually teach?

JR: I teach at 125th street every Thursday and Friday. I average about 50 people a night. Here at La Pregunta it varies: one week it might be five, one week it might be twenty, one week it might be three. It depends.

LA: Do you ever collaborate with other programs as a Salsa instructor?

JR: Yes, I do a lot of dancing for different companies. Sometimes we do events for hospitals, it has varried a lot over the past ten years.

LA: Do you ever run in to your students?

JR: Oh yes, all the time. They are everywhere I go.

LA: What would you like to see After-Work Salsa to develop in to?

JR: My goal is to teach. I want to make sure that everyone that comes to the class learns the right way, so that whenever they go out people will say “Where did you learn how to dance?”. I want everyone to be really good at what they do.

Stop by on Wednesdays at 7:30 to get your Salsa on.

0 Responses to “After-Work Salsa”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

La Pregunta's Flickr Photostream

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


